Nursing Staff Continued Retaliation

2-07-11

Dear Mom, Hope all is good with you and family I needed to document whats been going on with me lately concerning Retaliation against me by nursing staff, specifically on 6pm to 6am shift. I exercised my right to file a staff compliant against a nurse who was assigned to me on Nov. 9th 2010. This nurse is often the lead nurse on the pm shit and refuses  to give me her name. It should be noted that all nursing staff are required to wear name tags and must give you their name if asked. This staff compaint was due to my calls for HELP on Nov 9th, 2010. I had pushed my emeregncy call intercom button approx. 4 seperate times during the night begging her to please come and check my vitals and to view the 700 M.L of blood I had vomited. She tol dme nothing is wrong with you Edwards, stop complaining . After several more attempts to get her to check on me . She turned on my bright light and said when I stopped complaining she would turn my light off, this was the beginning of  her using my lights as a means to punish me. As a result of her failing to call a Doctor or check on me. the next morning Nov. 10th 2010 I was sent out to San Joaquin Community Hospital. Code 3 for a emergency blood transfusion. Since this nurse was questioned by supervising R.N. Montoya, I have been subjected to the same mistreatment and have had to file 3 more staff complaints against this same nurse.

On Jan 30th 2011, I was having repeated episodes of vomiting blood (16) TIMES TOTAL DURING THE ENTIRE DAY , 8 times during the pm shift. My assigned pm nurse and the above mentioned nurse who was the lead nurse failed to notify the ER Dr. Wang of my accute changes and continued vomiting neither my assigned nurse nor the lead ever checked my vitals not once during their 12 hour shift . I was complaining of chest pain, dizziness, weakness due to these two nurses leaving me bleeding all through the night and having a low hemoglobin (blood count) already of 9.2. Jan. 30th I became dizzy after vomiting blood again that I fell over my bedside table, causing me to hit my head and injure my back. All nursing staff did is get a order from C.M.O. Dr. Clark to leave my light on at night. Dr. Clarks order specifically states light may be left on only when patient complains of being sick either dizzy or vomiting blood. Nursing staff began to leave my night light on as a means to punish me, even though I was not complaining of vomiting nor feeling dizzy. On 2-2-11 This lead nurse who I filled the staff complaint against on the NOv 9th 2010 incident began her shift by coming by my cell, giving me dirty looks then taking a pair of a latex gloves and stretching them out in a sling shot gesture and snapping them towards my window. That night after 10:00 pm when the room lights are to be turned off, she told C?O Bohetti not to turn my light off. I told her and my assigned nurse why are you leaving my light on? I am not complaining of vomiting or feeling dizzy. and that you are violating Dr. Clarks orders by means of retaliating against me due to my complaints against you. they refused to to turn off my light, they then refused to let me talk to the supervising nurse and Doctor. They then would not even answer my call light. I then requested to talk to the unit housing sergeant- Sgt Keithley . Sgt Keithley had to have E.R. Dr. Mccabe come down from E.R. to talk with me, I explained the situation and Dr. Mccabe tad to call Dr. Clark at home at midnight because this lead nurse lied and said my light was ordered to be left on 24 hours a day. Dr. Mccabe contacted Dr. Clark and confirmed that I was telling the truth and my light may only be left on when patient is vomiting or geeling dizzy. not 24hours a day. Since then this same nurse has been lieing to custody officers, saying she has seen me passing stuff under my door to my neighber. Causing custody staff to place rugs under my door. She has told one 3rd watch officer that I have been sent out to the outside hospital 33 times and nothing has ever been found wrong with me.. This is not True as my medical records speak for themselves. She has been trying to provoke me, coming by my room flipping me off while acting like she is scratching her head. Snapping her gloves at me on 2-3-11. She told me I had a infected brain. She has repeatedly put in mental health referrals telling mental health I am acting crazy and need to be evaluated. I spoke with Dr. Bola regarding her continued harassment on 2-3-11 and was cleared of having any mental problems. I have filed numerous staff complaints against this nurse and contacted the board of registered nursing and have yet to receive any responses. All my appeals/staff complaints are past due, violating the time constraints this is an ongoing problem as inmates must first exhaust administrative remedies before they can seek civil action with the courts . This mistreatment is on going at this time . Jimmy

The Lead Nurse that keeps harresing my son is R.N. Estellore.

Once again those 2 words arbitrary interference  comes into play again, the United Nations set forth in 1948 articles listing BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS. #5 states NO one shall be subjected to torture or torture, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment ..

what does arbitrary interference mean: Determined on individual discretion,when based on a persons judgment, or prejudice , abuse, torment completely unreasonable. not by law or rules,

This really means because (I can) I can do what I want to do, to anyone I want, a real bully.. someone that would do these kinds of things are the ones that take advantage of situations,  like the abuse my son has gone through because of people like this Nurse R.N. Estellore…


About Lost Angels Mom

Hope is everything, Without it, We have Nothing...A mothers love never dies.
This entry was posted in written by LostAngel Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Nursing Staff Continued Retaliation

  1. Anne says:

    This link has a long list of commissioners. You should be able to find an e-mail address for them without too much trouble. PLEASE send a copy of this letter from Jimmy to ALL of them and ask them to help you!!!
    Anne
    http://www.prisoncommission.org/

    • Anna Mouse says:

      Ann
      write to Prison Law Office.
      Send a copy to
      Judge Thelton Henderson, San Francisco
      File a citizens complaint about the 602 answered by the doctor it was about
      Write to your congressman
      Send copy of letter to Senator Gloria Romero, California
      Also to Internal Affairs, state of California
      Call the CMO, the Warden, I record every call I make to the prison. Then transcribe the call.
      Post to prison support groups asking for letters to help get your son the medical treatment he needs. Letters can be sent directly to everyone listed and a few more. Call the reporter at the Sacramento Bee who does the investigations of the prison system. Mail him copies, or fax them.
      Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, Governor’s office, your state senator, your state representative.
      Doesn’t matter if they can’t or won’t help, they have been notified of your and your son’s situation. Send the letters. send some of them certified mail, return receipt for prison officials.
      File a civilian complaint every time your son files a 602, they must answer you. Research the civilian complaint info, then do it.
      A civilian complaint stays in an employees file for five years.
      Each complaint stays for five years.
      Send a short letter, usually one page, to each major newspaper in California.
      San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Jose, Sacramento Bee are the ones that I can think of right now.
      Are you able to obtain the medical records from the outside hospitals for your son? You do have a medical release form, right? Power of Attorney too??
      Write Letters, have you an Inmate Family Council at your son’s prison?
      Contact them too. Ask local churches for help, a letter from a pastor or minister can help.
      Contact Stanford University and ask for the Legal, they can sometimes give a student or group of them a project to work on, like your son’s case.
      Also write to the ACLU. sometimes they will help, mention the torture and abuse.
      Write to everyone you can think of, and keep a copy of each letter, date sent.
      Many religious organizations are involved in prison reform and prisoner rights. Right now, I can’t remember which ones. The phone book and the phone are your friends. Contact every one you can think of, even if they write you back saying that they can’t help, they are now aware of your son’s plight. My experience is that if you keep writing, keep those letters going, you eventually get results.
      If your son has not filed a 602 against the nurse yet, go ahead and write a letter to the warden and everyone else. Your son is in fear of his life at her hands and so are you.
      Don’t forget the prison support groups on yahoo, ladies, and men, there can offer some resources, and many will write letters for you and your son.
      Keep this in front of everyone. California Medical association, American medical association, just a one page letter if possible, no more than two, and send those letters out. I try to mail them out the same week so everyone gets one and knows what is going on.
      Don’t give up, don’t quit. Post the blog, write the letters, call radio stations, write letters, and send follow up letters to everyone once a month. Start a yahoo group for prisoner medical issues or support.
      Keep fighting, keep writing.
      Post the names and addresses on your blog site for others to write letters of support for your son.
      God Bless You and Your Son

    • Anna Mouse says:

      Ann
      write to Prison Law Office, San Quentin office, they will write letter to your son, and to warden. or cmo. they will answer for the medical issues.

      Send a copy to
      Judge Thelton Henderson, San Francisco, he won’t answer, but he will forward your letter to someone else, again, he is now aware of situation.
      File a citizens complaint about the 602 answered by the doctor it was about
      Write to your congressman ask him/her to speak with the CMO. to find out what is happening with your son. The congressman can do this. A US Congressman can visit any prison and walk through without prior permission from warden. My congressman told me this.
      Send copy of letter to Senator Gloria Romero, California. She is head of a senate committee about something to do with prisoners.
      Also to Internal Affairs, state of California
      Call the CMO, the Warden, I record every call I make to the prison. Then transcribe the call.
      Post to prison support groups asking for letters to help get your son the medical treatment he needs. Letters can be sent directly to everyone listed and a few more. Call the reporter at the Sacramento Bee who does the investigations of the prison system. Mail him copies, or fax them.
      Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, Governor’s office, your state senator, your state representative.
      Doesn’t matter if they can’t or won’t help, they have been notified of your and your son’s situation. Send the letters. send some of them certified mail, return receipt for prison officials.
      File a civilian complaint every time your son files a 602, they must answer you. Research the civilian complaint info, then do it.
      A civilian complaint stays in an employees file for five years.
      Each complaint stays for five years.
      Send a short letter, usually one page, to each major newspaper in California.
      San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Jose, Sacramento Bee are the ones that I can think of right now.
      Are you able to obtain the medical records from the outside hospitals for your son? You do have a medical release form, right? Power of Attorney too??
      Write Letters, have you an Inmate Family Council at your son’s prison?
      Contact them too. Ask local churches for help, a letter from a pastor or minister can help.
      Contact Stanford University or University of California Berkley, and ask for the legal area (can’t think of what it’s called), they can sometimes give a student or group of them a project to work on, like your son’s case.
      Also write to the ACLU. sometimes they will help, mention the torture and abuse. Deliberate with holding of medical care.
      Write to everyone you can think of, and keep a copy of each letter, date sent.
      Many religious organizations are involved in prison reform and prisoner rights. Right now, I can’t remember which ones. The phone book and the phone are your friends. Contact every one you can think of for help, and ask them to refer you to someone if they can’t themselves, even if they write you back saying that they can’t help, they are now aware of your son’s plight. My experience is that if you keep writing, keep those letters going, you eventually get results.
      If your son has not filed a 602 against the nurse yet, go ahead and write a letter to the warden and everyone else. Your son is in fear of his life at her hands and so are you.
      Don’t forget the prison support groups on yahoo, ladies, and men, there can offer some resources, and many will write letters for you and your son.
      Keep this in front of everyone. California Medical association, American medical association, just a one page letter if possible, no more than two, and send those letters out. I try to mail them out the same week so everyone gets one and knows what is going on.
      Don’t give up, don’t quit. Post the blog, write the letters, call radio stations, write letters, and send follow up letters to everyone once a month. Start a yahoo group for prisoner medical issues or support.
      Keep fighting, keep writing.
      Post the names and addresses on your blog site for others to write letters of support for your son.
      Oh, include a copy of the doctor’s comment, “That’s Fine” with complaints to medical boards and organizations as well as newspapers, contact everyone you can think of. It takes ten minutes and a stamp to let people know what is going happening and hopefully getting it stopped. Try to find an attorney to go visit your son and that can help too. Just knowing that someone besides an inmate’s mother is aware and watching can make a difference.
      God Bless You and Your Son

  2. Anne says:

    http://www.pbs.org/wnet/need-to-know/contact/

    Rain, Go to this website and fill out the form. Write a brief message -“My son is a prisoner at Corcoran State prison and is dying and is being tortured & abused by medical staff and is being denied adequate medical care”. Ask if there is any one in their org who can help or if they can point you in the right direction.

  3. Anne says:

    Send an e-mail & copy Jimmy’s letter to:
    HUMAN RIGHTS WATCH
    New York
    Press Desk
    Tel: +1-212-216-1832
    Fax: +1-212-736-1300
    Email: hrwpress@hrw.org
    Skype: hrwpress

  4. Anne says:

    COMMISSION ON SAFETY & ABUSE IN AMERICAN PRISONS
    The Commission has offices in New York City and Washington, D.C. General inquiries should be directed to the Washington, D.C. office. Click here for a list of Commission staff.
    http://www.prisoncommission.org/contact.asp
    1330 Connecticut Avenue NW
    Suite B
    Washington, D.C. 20036
    T 202.347.6776
    F 202.347.6047
    info@prisoncommission.org

    233 Broadway
    12th Floor
    New York, N.Y. 10279
    T 212.334.1300
    F 212.941.9407

  5. Here is a link to CDCR Form 2142 – Citizen’s Complaint Form. This form initiates and internal affairs investigation and is taken much more seriously because if gets the issue outside of the appeals coordinator who handles the inmate/parolee 602 appeals.

  6. May I suggest that the inmate file a complaint with the Medical Board of Calif? Dr Kim is a physician first and foremost. There is a higher authority than CDC, it is the board that allows Dr Kim the right to practice medicine in Calif. All complaints are investigated and are public record. No doctor wants anything on his record. It might change his attitude in the way he deals with inmates. It will also increase his malpractice fees. And just maybe may affect his ability to practice in Calif.

    http://xa.yimg.com/kq/groups/23182747/222605936/name/medical%20board%20complaint.pdf

    http://xa.yimg.com/kq/groups/23182747/1792058258/name/medical%20board%20complaint%20instructions.pdf

  7. http://mensengagementrings.ca says:

    My brother recommended I would possibly like this website. He was once entirely right. This submit truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

