Basic Human Rights

On December 10, 1948 The General Assembly of the United Nations, adopted and proclaimed the *Universal Declaration of Human rights*.  There is 30 articales outlining the rights of all people everywhere. As I go over each article and how it pertains to myself and  everyone around me, I stop to ponder the greatness of the minds that came together from all over the world to make this declaration.  as a people striving to hold and to respect the rights and freedoms that were handed down that day is something we all have the responsibility to uphold.

Everyone has Basic Human rights, What does that mean really, does that mean everyone is born free and equal as it states in Article 1?

Article 2: states Everyone is entitled to all the rights and freedoms set forth in this Declaration, without distinction of any kind, such as race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status.

Article 3: states Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of person.

Article 5: states No one shall be subjected to torture or to cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment.

Article 12: states No one shall be subjected to arbitrary interference with his privacy, family , home or correspondence nor to attack upon his honor and reputation, everyone has the right to the protection of the law against such interference or attacks.

Article 25: states Everyone has the right to a standard of living adequate for the health and well-being of himself and of his family, including food, clothing, housing and medical care and necessary social services, and the right to security in the event of unemployment, sickness, disability, widowhood, old age or other lack of livelihood in circumstances beyond his control.

This declaration that was put together for all people, does it mean for everyone, no matter the circumstances, or does it mean we can justify from our own prejudices. Picking and choosing what our forefathers meant. I do understand everyone is different, our minds and thought process and how we perceive things. I am sure everyone of us can pull up the Declaration of Human rights and 1 or 2 will pop out at you and mean more than the others. as I ponder all the 30 articles, the ones I mentioned above did just that for me. So I have to say to myself what did I get out of reading and pondering this morning, What do they really mean to me. I know that when I was in the 8th grade and had to learn many of them that I had no idea at that time just how important this declaration would come to mean to me one day.. not so much for myself but for others that have no one to fight for them. So what is Basic Human Rights… What does this mean, really mean, I know what it means to me as a woman, a member of society and as a mother.

Basic Human Rights: The right to Life… I am sure we all have our opinions on this one. I do feel everyone has the right to life. So does this mean if I believe everyone has the right to life, does this also mean I have the right to die in dignity. (Is that my choice)? We all have the right to be free, to make choices for ourself. The Lord gave us this gift to make choices. but with choices we also have consequences set forth by the law of the land. Does that mean our basic human rights are stripped from us, the right to life. The right to be treated with basic human dignity. The right to have medical care, the right to live in a safe environment, by the choices we make?

As a Woman I support my sisters all around the world, holding them up and advocating for their well being, as a Mother my instinct is to love and protect her young.. Does that just mean the ones born to me, or does that also mean advocating for all the children that are out there, that need someone to stand up for them? Does this mean I can pick and choose to advocate for everyone or just a few chosen ones? Since we all seem to have the choice to believe freely and pick our battles. My choice is to advocate for the well being and basic rights of all the sons and daughters behind the iron belly of the beast. I took off my rose colored glasses a long time ago.  I no longer believe  The Universal Declaration of Human Rights is for everyone, I see it everyday around me, I read it in the papers, watch it on the National news, I see it at work, and in our courtrooms. Yes!!!! my rose colored glasses came off a long time ago. But I still believe we all have the responsibility to uphold this declaration.

Hope Is Everything, Without It, We Have Nothing.
About Lost Angels Mom

Hope is everything, Without it, We have Nothing...A mothers love never dies.
This entry was posted in written by LostAngel Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Basic Human Rights

  1. Rex says:

    Well done and well said.

  2. Pingback: UpDate 6/11 (1:30pm0 | lostangels1

Leave a Reply

